Golf Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Premium Member
18,252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Wyndham Championship is a regular golf tournament on the PGA Tour. It is played annually in Greensboro, North Carolina, U.S. and was originally called the Greater Greensboro Open. In 2007, the event was renamed the Wyndham Championship when Wyndham Hotels & Resorts took over from DaimlerChrysler as main sponsor. It moved from an autumn date to mid-August and is the last PGA Tour event before the Playoffs for the FedEx Cup.

The 2008 purse was $5,100,000, with $918,000 going to the winner. The tournament was founded in 1938 as the Greater Greensboro Open. This tournament was usually contested in April or May, until a schedule change in 2003 which moved the tournament toward the end of the season. Sam Snead set a PGA Tour record for his 8 wins at the event, as well as his 1965 event, which made him the oldest player to win a PGA Tour event (both records still stand).

The event has been played in Greensboro for its entire history. In its first 4 years, it was played at both Sedgefield Country Club and Starmount Forest Country Club, and shifted to solely Starmount Forest CC in 1942 and for the first time it was played after World War II in 1945. Starting with that 1945 event, it alternated between Starmount Forest CC and Sedgefield CC until 1952, when Starmount Forest CC hosted for a 2nd year in a row. It returned to Sedgefield CC in 1953 before Starmount Forest CC hosted 3 consecutive years (through 1956). Sedgefield CC hosted in 1957 before Starmount Forest CC hosted another 3 straight 1958-60. From 1961 to 1976, it was played at Sedgefield CC. From 1977 to 2007, Forest Oaks Country Club hosted the event. In 2008, the tournament returned to Sedgefield CC.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.