Golf Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

Premium Member
18,246 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The World Cup is an annual men's golf tournament. It is contested by teams of two representing their country. Only one team is allowed from each country. The players are selected on the basis of the Official World Golf Rankings, although not all of the first choice players choose to compete. From 2007 to 2018 it will be held at Mission Hills Golf Club in China and will be known as the Mission Hills World Cup. It will also have a title sponsor, the first of which is Omega, so the full name of the 2007 event is the Omega Mission Hills World Cup.

The tournament was founded by Canadian industrialist John Jay Hopkins, who hoped it would promote international goodwill through golf. It began in 1953 as the Canada Cup and changed its named to the World Cup in 1967. With Fred Corcoran as the Tournament Director and the International Golf Association behind it (1955-1977), the World Cup traveled the globe and grew to be one of golf's most prestigious tournaments throughout the 1960s and '70s, before it became the World Cup of Golf in 1993. It was incorporated into the World Golf Championships series from 2000 to 2006. In 2007 it ceased to be a World Golf Championships event, but continued to be sanctioned by the International Federation of PGA Tours. The United States has a clear lead in wins, with 23 as of 2007.

In 1953, the format was 36 holes of stroke play with the combined score of the two-man team determining the winner. From 1954 to 1999, the format was 72 holes of stroke play. Beginning in 2000, the format is alternating stroke play rounds of bestball (fourball) and alternate shot (foursomes). From 1955 to 1999, there was also a separate award, the International Trophy, for the individual with the best 72 hole score.

The equivalent event for women is the Women's World Cup of Golf.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts