Golf Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm completely new at this. I went to the local golf shop and they showed me a 'starter' set. $179 which included several clubs.

The golf pro who I am taking lessons from recommended the Jack Nicklaus set at Costco. I then asked a friend (a seasoned golfer) about the set and he said I wouldn't be wasting my money on it.

So I went ahead and got the Jack Nicklaus V18 signature series ($249) and Prince Golf Ladies SST Hybrid Golf Set ($199) at Costco.

I was having a little bit of buyers remorse thinking, maybe I should have researched more? Maybe I jumped into it too fast? I've been to the driving range 4 times with the set in a week and love it. I of course have nothing else to compare it to. I'm almost not interested in trying 'better' clubs for fear of wanting it and not needing it right now.

Should I feel good? Stupid? Sad? Happy?

I just want to play and get better all the time! :)

·
Registered
708 Posts
Hey your going to learn to either love those clubs or hate them depending on your individual skills. My first set cost $139.00 all in including a pull cart. They weighed a ton(all steel) but they served me well during my learning curve. If you truely become a golf fanatic, then when you go to get a new set you'll have some reference point to work from. Personally I think you made a wise decision and got a good deal. Welcome to the wonderful world of golf.

Del

·
Registered
10 Posts
I have played / still play several Nicklaus Golf clubs over the years, and they have all served me well...you are starting out and might just be testing the waters, so a large $$$$ investment might not be wise.
YOu don't always have to buy into the name brand hype.

·
Registered
82 Posts
You did good. now go out and hit them...

I got my first complete set of clubs 20 yrs ago from Costco.
I still have them in storage. kind of nostalgic....

·
Registered
47 Posts