Golf Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to golf as of this June but have been bitten by the bug pretty hard and have played atleast 9 holes 1-2 times a week since my first day. As of the last 3 weeks my scores are right around 95 on a par 72 which I think for a guy that handn't set foot on a course until 3-4 months ago is pretty decent.

My question is now I want to take lessons to see if I can bring myself around to play consistantly and lower my scores but I have no idea what to look for in an instructor other than a PGA certified pro. I live near Kansas City Missouri and there are instructors all over and prices to match, is it just trial and error to find an instructor I like? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
800 Posts
It is hard to find a good pro that you can instantly get along with. I would definately ask around your locality and see who others reccomend. Once you find a good pro, you will notice your game improving.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Don't get one at a puclib golf range, they are over the hill players who don't paymuch attention and give you stupid usless drills.

I'd recommend calling up a few local private golf clubs. Ask the pro shop if they offer lessons (and do they use video?) to the public? A lot of them do.

My brother took lessons at Baltusrol which offers lessons to public.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hey how about this ? Pick up a copy of Hogan's "power golf" and another of his called "five fundamentals" and read it !