Golf Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to golf and I would like to get suggestions as to choosing a good and effective golf ball to use for beginners like me ...

Thanks...

·
Registered
41 Posts
Id also be very interested to find out if there is such a thing designed specifically for beginners? I thought a ball was justr a ball - can one really help you improve your game?

·
Registered
15 Posts
As weird as it sounds, I think golf balls are very mental. Take me for example. I golf better when I hit callaway balls. They probably don't even do anything for me, I am just comfortable hitting callaway. I won't shoot well hitting a nike, or anything else. Alot of golf is personal preference.

Just my opinion though, many golf balls are better than others.

·
Registered
482 Posts
Nothing wrong with using cheap balls at first. In fact, I will laugh in the face of any 36 handicap who plays Pro V1's. Just don't use balls that are all scuffed up or have nicks in them, cuz that'll throw your putting off.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I seem to go through phases with balls - I tend to range from Wilson (Jacks), Precept, Srixon, Nike & Snake Eyes - they all seem to work for me - find one you like & stick with it - PR's advice is good too - whatevers on sale!!!!

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hey, Spider John, that is a very nice suggestion that I missed...

Get the balls on sale... it wouldn't matter, thanks to all of you who replied to this thread! Really appreciate that! :)

·
Registered
144 Posts
I only play with the softest golfballs I can find, Right now I am playing Calloway HX HOTs and HX TOURs(like the one in my avvy).

·
Registered
16 Posts
As a beginner, get the cheapest going. If its an expensive new ball it will play more on your mind. (unless you're loaded, then use anything you like:))

·
Registered
144 Posts