Golf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys,

I'm starting to become a little interested in purchasing some clubs, probably in about 2 months, but I'm going to start shopping around now. Now i don't really know much about them, or which way to go. I know that even though I'm a beginner, I'm going to step up a little, and look for a set of clubs that i will be satisfied with for a long time. I don't want to be buying new clubs in 2 years. So i guess i am willing to shell out a good amount of money, but nothing crazy.

Now how should i be looking to buy?? Ive noticed that only the cheaper clubs come in full sets, so it looks like generally u have to buy drivers and woods and iron sets all separately huh??? What are the essential clubs i need to have in my bag??? Is there a big difference between steel shafts and graphite shafts???

Are there some clubs you guys would recommend??? Ive always heard people talking about the big bertha irons and how they are pretty nice. But what else is out there. I pretty much just want to be an educated shopper, instead of just going out and buying a club that looks pretty.

Also, what is it that makes a good club Superior to a cheap club??

Thanks in advance. You guys have been very helpful getting me started in the sport.

---Joe

·
Registered
800 Posts
Irons - you really want to look at cavity backs only. Dont buy a set because someone recommends them to you. You will need to go to a proper golf store or club and try different sets. Not everyone is suited to the same set of irons.

Driver - not essential for learning or anyone really. A driver is not a huge advantage over a 3 wood most of the time.

3 Wood - get one of these, again same as the irons, look around at what you like - you dont have to have a matching set of irons, woods, putter etc. A lot of people mix and match. This club will give you enough distance from the tee and also allow you to use on the fairway if needed.