Golf Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!!! im new to this whole forumming site, i registered 'cos im in desperate need of advice from you guys.

im 17 yrs old and play off 8 and i was just wondering what driver you would suggest me getting!

im open to all makes and ideas really.

cheers ppl

dave!

·
Registered
800 Posts
Hi,

What are your swing characteristics?

Do you fire the ball miles, or are you a straight and steady player?

What are you looking for in a driver?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hi fitz uk,

well when im swinging well and on the top of my game im often both (without sounding big headed lol) but on bad-days when im not swinging so well then i suppose id have to say i lose my accuracy.

i do however want a beast of a driver as my next.

iv previously owned a Callaway Steelhead and a Cobra 440SZ (which recently had its shaft broken) hence the need for a new driver.

cheers

dave!

·
Registered
800 Posts
Do you have a fast swing speed?

Something I went through (about 2 callaways) as the shafts kept shattering under too much torque.

I have a fast swing, and needed a club that would compliment it and harness some of the power.

From a personall point of view, I would say look at a driver similar spec to mine, Titleist 905R, speeder shaft S flex.

Alternatively, I quite like the Sasquatch Nike driver.

Best thing would be to go to a driving range that have these clubs for you to try and see which driver suits you best.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Do you have access to a ProShop/Golf Shop where you can go and hit several different brand drivers? I play with a TaylorMade r7 460 but I hit a Cobra at Edwin Watts that I liked very much.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
yeah, cheers divothead.

i do have acces to a number of golf shops quite local to where i live (yorkshire).

i am keen on a number of drivers and won't really rule any out until i have hit some balls with a few.